Thursday, January 10, 2008

A Birthday Basket for Tia..

As part of my reading program, I was reading the book, “A Birthday Basket for Tia” to my class. Tia is the great aunt of the little girl in the story, and she is turning 90 years old. When I read that, I commented that not very many people live to be 90 years old. Probably the biggest word a 5-6 year old knows is,…”Why?” And I opened my big mouth and stuck that number 12 foot right in it. “Because they die before then.”

From the whole class. “BUT I DON’T WANT TO DIE!!!!!!” “Well, don’t worry, nobody here is dying right now.”

Try again, “Look, nobody lives forever, EVERYBODY dies…….” In my mind I’m thinking “Crap, 22 kids, statistically at least ONE of them probably knows someone who has died recently.”
One kid, “My uncle died.”

Try again, “Look, I’m OLD, right?” well they didn’t have to agree so FAST. “You’ll probably ALL live to be older than me…..” Never mind about statistics, you’ll learn about them later.

Change the subject. “MY! Isn’t the weather wonderful right now?”

Leave a Reply

