Thursday, March 27, 2008

I’m not here…..

I guess I was in a funny mood this morning. I was taking attendance and it was looking like we had perfect attendance which is a big deal. It doesn’t happen very often lately. We’ve had a lot of sickness. Anyway I did a quick head count and knew we had perfect attendance, but I was taking roll anyway and I got to this one little character and she said, “I’m not here.” So I said, “Who’s not here?” And she said, “Me.” So I said, “Well if you aren’t here, then I can’t hear you.” So before you know it, they ALL aren’t here. I said, “Great, nobody’s here, I can take a nap.” Now they couldn’t be quiet if their lives depended on it. So the first little noise I heard, I said, “Who’s there, I hear somebody…..” So we played around a bit like that and then got back to work.

About an hour and a half into the day, we took a bathroom break. Now we (by we, I mean of course, THEY) always run two laps around the playground and then go to the bathroom and get a drink. This same little girl gets an idea, “I can’t run, I’m not here.”

Little smarty pants.

So I said, “Well, I guess if you aren’t here, you can’t run…….pause ….. or eat lunch.”

After a pause to consider,

“I’ll run.”

Leave a Reply

