Tuesday, February 12, 2008

The weather was nice today…

The high was 72 degrees. But you never know, it can start out nice and end poorly, or start out bad and end nice this time of year. I really stress to the kids at school about being sure to have enough clothes on to be warm if it gets cold. We talk about layers, so they can take things off if they get too warm.

Sometimes the layers are inappropriate and they have to leave them on. The science teacher told one of the girls to take her sweat shirt off in science the other day, so she did. As I was going out the door, I heard, “Never mind, put it back on…..”

Today I was looking at this one girl and I said, “How many shirts do you have on?” She said, “Four.” This other kid pipes up and says, “And she’s got a skirt on too.” I looked down at her jeans, and said, “Uh uh, she’s got pants on.” The other kid said, “UNDER the jeans.”

So I turned to the girl, and said, “Really?” and she said, “Yes.” I asked her who dressed her in the morning, and she gets this real proud look on her face and said, “I dressed myself!”

Leave a Reply

