Tuesday, June 26, 2007

Done vs. Dumb

The other day I made one of my kids really upset. I don’t know WHY I did it, I just PUSHED.

She came up to me and said, “Mr. B, I’m done.” And playing with her I said, “Hey, you are NOT dumb, you are SMART.” She said, “No, I’m done.” And I said, ” No you are NOT, you are smart.” And SHE said,…… well you get the drift.

After going back and forth like this, I started cutting her off, I wouldn’t let her start, I kept saying, ” Look, I don’t want to HEAR it, you are NOT dumb, you are SMART.” This other boy walks up to me, he could see where this was getting her and he said, “Mr. B, I’m FINISHED.” Now, he got it.

We were reading about a rabbit awhile ago and I kept calling it a wabbit, (I even showed them a Bugs Bunny cartoon with Elmer Fudd) not a rabbit and it drove her nuts.

Leave a Reply

