The last day of school

Today was the last day of school for my class this year. It was a hard day. This class has been the best class I have ever taught and maybe I did my best teaching ever with them. In any case, I am so proud of the progress they all made and it was really hard to say goodbye to them. In the past, I said goodbye, but in reality, I still saw most of them almost everyday as they made their way in first and second grade. This year that won’t be happening, because I am changing schools. It seemed more final.

I’ve had parents show me appreciation before as well, but this year, I got page long letters from parents that just seemed to touch me more than I remember any doing before. At the end of the day, when the kids were gone, I sat down and read some of the notes and it really made me remember why I teach.

Leave a Reply

