The new year, the new school…..

I don’t get it.  It seems like I’m spending FOREVER at my school.  I was there for most of the three weeks before my track started.  I’ve been putting in 10 to 12 hour days since school started for me.  I’ve been there every weekend, with no air conditioning……  It just seems like there is still so MUCH to do.  This weekend I needed to rearrange the room  to make room for a small group instruction area for differentiated instruction.  I needed to get at least one pocket chart up.  I needed a pocket chart to put my daily schedule up for the administration.  Whatever floats their boat I guess.  I mean, who is it for……?  I have my plans to follow,  if I post it, the kids can’t read…… and administration have my daily schedule, and access to my plans…..

One of the frustrating things about my otherwise very nice room is that there isn’t much wall space. I could use a couple more pocket charts, but I’m having trouble finding places for them.

Sometimes I think schools make kindergarten teachers do some things, just because EVERYBODY else has to.  I really HATE going to meetings that I’ve been told to come to, about things that kindergarten doesn’t do,  or if we have to do it, we have to do it different than everyone else.

At my new school, they don’t let kids play on the playground before school.  I think one of the reasons is that they don’t have enough people to cover the whole playground the way it’s layed out.  Kindergarten has it’s own playground, but the same rule applies.  It just makes no sense to have kindergarten kids stand in line for 20 minutes in the morning.  If the goal is to not have the kids show up so early, then just lock the gates until it’s time to line up.  We want them there so they aren’t late for school, but they can’t DO anything when they get there.

I think one of my problems is getting used to having more kids.  For the last three years, I had around 25 kids, this year I’m right at 30, and more kids takes more time.  And energy.  They are great kids, but I can see that it’s going to be hard to get this many as far as I got my previous classes.  It’s like I have to find time in my schedule someplace for one more group.  And what that REALLY means is that I can’t get to every group every day.  So everyone gets less small group time.

Leave a Reply

