Break is almost over…..

I’ve been out of school for so long that I can’t even remember what we were teaching/learning when we went on break.  I don’t think I’m going to be able to find things in my room either.  Classes start back for our rotation next Thursday.  I will probably spend some of tomorrow (Friday) and most of the first part of next week at school getting ready to start back up.

I’m really bummed reading all the other teacher blogs I follow.  Everyone is talking about winding down the school year and I still have a third of my year to go.

If you teach kindergarten, is anyone going to the national, “I Teach K” conference in Las Vegas this year?  It looks like Title One is going to let us go this year.  It would be fun to connect, if anyone is going to be there.

5 thoughts on “Break is almost over…..

  1. I literally just threw out my brochure yesterday. It’s way out of my budget (I’d have to pay for it myself) plus I HATE Vegas. I wish they’d hold the conference here in Chicago every year. It’s 100 times the city Vegas is, for Pete’s sake! 😉 It does look like a great conference, and hell, if you can get the funds, I say do it!

    • I always like the vendor section more than the conference part of these things, I went to it in Nashville about 4 years ago. It’s been in Vegas for the last three years and I’ve been to it there too. I didn’t go last year though, the conference was the same time as the last week of school for my kids and I didn’t want to miss that.
      It’s nice you like Chicago, but do you ever get out?

    • Year round scheduling IS nice, I am just currently on the worst of the 5 rotation schedules and will be switching schedules next year to a better one. What that does to me though is make it so I have Memorial Day, the 4th of July, about 4 days between the end of this year and next year, then I don’t get a real break until Thanksgiving. THAT’s the part I’m not really looking forward to.

      • My student-teaching school was on a year-round schedule (but not tracks), but I was there for only half a year. Do you see it helping your students? We have about a month left til our 10 week summer vacation, and everyone is already talking about “summer slide”. I just saw a statistic that kids can lose as much as 60% of what they learned over the summer. (Great, for this year’s class that would be negative learning. 😉 )

Leave a Reply

