“I’m going to the nurse….”

I went into the lunchroom to pick up my class at the end of lunch and one of my little girls informed me that she was on her way to the nurse.  She then showed me this little tiny spot of blood on one of her fingers.  I said, “No, you are NOT going to the nurse.  Teachers SEND you to the nurse, you do not just go on your own.”  She spent the next 15 minutes bawling.

When we got back to the room and everyone was situated, I called her over, gave her an antiseptic wipe, and then put a bandaid on it.  A few minutes later I was walking by near her seat and I heard her say to the bandaid on her finger.  ” I looove you little bandaid…….”

sheeesh.

Three other kids came up with miniscule little imaginary injuries and wanted bandaids……..

I used to get the fancy printed ones for class.  They would go out and hurt themselves for one of those……

5 thoughts on ““I’m going to the nurse….”

  1. Aw, come on….I still get the cool printed ones (mostly because I can get them at the dollar store) and I think it’s cute how excited they get. Although, I only put them on REAL wounds. None of that, “I cut myself and need a bandaid” then they show me a scabbed over scratch!!

  2. I give bandaids whenever they’re requested. No issue from me. I haven’t seen kids deliberately make themselves bleed for one; maybe it’s because I’ve given out bandaids (not many) even if there was only a teeny tiny little pink spot where there’s an imagined injury.

    • It’s those teeny tiny little pink spots that get me. If I were a little more generous with the bandaids, you are right, it probably wouldn’t be such a big deal, and generic bandaids won’t break the bank. Seriously though, if one kid does ANY behavior, from coughing, to getting a tissue, to going to the bathroom, auto-suggestion kicks in, and I soon have an epidemic. They have gone through two boxes of tissues in a day without any runny noses in the group.

Leave a Reply

