Teaching Kindergarten

I choose to do it,  and I really love the kids, even the ones that turned my hair gray.  But there are things that I do get tired of.

There are too many kids.  Kindergarten isn’t mandatory in my state, so even though they have mandated class size reduction in first, second and third, they don’t in kindergarten. It’s even half day in all but Title One schools.  I couldn’t do it if I had two half day classes with 60 kids total.  I’m not that young anymore.  That’s what I did the first 4 years I taught, but the curriculum was different back then, it was still kind of kindergarten, now it’s more like first grade.

I get tired of going to required staff meetings where they spend the whole time talking about things that don’t apply to my grade level…. 

I get tired of all the staff developments that don’t address kindergarten – that they make us go to anyway……..

I get tired of memos and announcements given to the staff at large, that only apply to part of the staff……….

They expect US to differentiate our instruction, but they can’t be bothered to differentiate the training they give us………

I get REALLY tired of them getting offended when we point out that we are offended when they are waste our time.

7 thoughts on “Teaching Kindergarten

  1. OMG! I don’t think you work in Missouri but you are we could be in the same school district. I’m going to add doing all of the testing- with no help- and the endless paper work documenting my documents.

  2. What bothers me the most is seeing kindergarten academic expectations go WAY up and actual support in terms of resources to do our jobs go DOWN. And from all reports, it’s only going to get worse.

    While lots of lip service is paid to education, actions speak louder than words. I know what it would like to get support; instead we teachers asked to give more and more and more support in all directions….

    • I have had a part-time aide until this year. This year she comes in, spends a half hour with my low group. I don’t really know what it is she does with them….. And then she spends the rest of the day working with groups of kids in 3rd, 4th and 5th trying to get them ready for the CRT’s which affect our NCLB status. Here, with state budget shortfalls, we are looking at fewer resources, fewer teachers, and larger class sizes. I spend a lot of money (by choice) on things that make my job easier, so I can do things the way I want to. Without that, it would be much worse. My dad used to be an administrator. He questioned my decision, 20 odd years ago when I elected to enter teaching, he could see back then where things were going. I don’t regret the decision, but things could be SO much better……. and it’s just sad when you know it isn’t going to happen.

  3. Praise the Lord I am in a wonderful district now that has done away with all but the most necessary staff meetings. I always hated those! Announcements are all sent by email. We still have too much testing and too little money, but hey, you can’t have everything!

  4. “They expect US to differentiate our instruction, but they can’t be bothered to differentiate the training they give us…”
    What a solid point. That needs to start being reflected more often since differentiated staff development should be an expectation!

Leave a Reply

