Between the highest and the lowest

There is a widening gape between the highest performing kids in my room and the lowest performing kids.  We just finished our middle benchmark dibels testing and generally they did very well. 

At the beginning of the year, I had:

 11 Intensive children

 14 Strategic

4 Benchmark kids.

Now I have:

2 Intensive

10 Strategic

18 Benchmark

8 of my Intensive kids moved up, half of them went from Intensive to Benchmark, and 10 kids went from Strategic to Benchmark.

So for the last couple of days I have been adjusting and differentiating their centers and seatwork along the new data.  Today about killed some of them.  Based on the data from the tests I divided them into groups and gave out assignments that I thought they could do.

Yeah, we’ll have to make some adjustments.  Some of them were totally lost with the new work, some of them could DO it, they just didn’t LIKE it.  And it’s really interesting to see how they react to change and to new challenges.  A couple of them just shut down, and didn’t even try the new stuff, and when I worked them through a couple of examples, it was clear that they had the necessary skills, just didn’t like it.  Thinking is hard work and some of their little thinking machines have never really had to do much.

Hopefully, these changes will allow me to deal with small groups better, small group instruction has been pretty rocky with this class so far this year.

5 thoughts on “Between the highest and the lowest

  1. Maybe it’s in the air. A kid new to class completely shut down at handwriting today, and that hasn’t happened too much this year. Usually, they get the work done, and do it well.

  2. Yeah, he let the whole job get to him instead of taking it a piece at a time. He eventually got to work, but he didn’t like it. Another girl told me she didn’t want to do the work, I told her OK, but get to work. The look on her face was pretty priceless.

  3. Congratulations on the progress you are making. I don’t know how you manage with so many children. The most I’ve ever had in one class was 22! As of yesterday I now have thirteen. It is so wonderful! This is the smallest class I’ve ever had. Of course we have already gotten the word that we will “double up” next year to save money. I will probably have to seek advice from you! My students are doing great in reading. We took our DIBELS info and created tutoring groups for specific skills. The “at risk” ones get three sessions per week, the others one or two depending on need. Our tutor is wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

