I hate when things are just assumed.

Our educational leader at our school often makes assumptions, or sometimes thinks they have explained something when they have left out key pieces of information.  This often happens when part of the staff is out on rotation break.  Staff  come back from break, and are assumed to know stuff that was explained while they were out.   Another common problem is that kindergarten does so many things differently than the rest of the grade levels, yet many meetings and trainings are required that don’t “fit” us, yet we are required to attend, participate, and somehow comply.

An example of this last thing would be our report card and grades.  First, kindergarten doesn’t “give” grades, yet we are somehow expected to keep grades in our electronic grade book (which in turn generates the report card).  I received a form in my mailbox today,  saying that there were no new grades in my grade book along with a standard formula (that works for all other grade levels and their grade books) indicating how many grades my grade book is missing.  I’ve tried to explain to her, “There is NO place to put these so-called grades, which we by-the-way don’t give….”   Nothing we say to her seems to make a difference.

There are unit literacy tests that we give with every unit.  All other grades use scantron answer sheets for the tests.  Since they are computerized, they can combine and compare grade level scores easily.  Kindergarten again not computerized, the tests aren’t set up that way.  She said she’d get back to us on that.  It’s never happened.  I’m waiting for the day she wants the data.

6 thoughts on “I hate when things are just assumed.

  1. If I had to make a bet I would bet this is a young, or inexperience administrator. It sounds like she is too busy impressing her superiors that she has forgotten the purpose or the children for that matter. Perhaps she wants her school to look good regardless of what is really happening or if children are benefiting. Has she a clue any clue about Kindergarten? If she doesn’t I wonder why she can’t take the time to listen and learn something from the kindergarten teachers. Good luck

    • Seems like it sometimes, I think your neighborhood is a little harsher than ours, but many of the problems are similar.

  2. It’s a blessing to work for a principal who’s taught kindergarten and has some idea of what we face every day. Next to that is to have someone who hasn’t taught it and simply leaves us alone, knowing they’re clueless about kindergarten. You’ve got something worse there. I’d have to take more blood pressure medication than I already do if I worked in your district.

    • We are bigger, and less personal than your district I think, and I think it has more to do with the “at-risk” or poverty level of the families who attend our school than the district as a whole. That would have to be the biggest contributing factor.

Leave a Reply

