Immigration……..

First off, I have nothing against Hispanics, most of the children I teach are Hispanic and I really love them all.  It’s not about Hispanics, it’s about the law and the way it’s inforced, or not…  This is just another Unfunded Federal Mandate.

Gov. Brewer vs Robert Sarver (one of the owners of the Phoenix Suns, who by the way lives in San Deigo)


Reported by Dave Hodges 
Date: 07-24-2010
Subject: Immigration

The owner of the Phoenix Suns basketball team, Robert Sarver, opposes AZ’s new immigration laws. 

Arizona’s Governor, Jan Brewer, released the following statement in response to Sarver’s criticism of the new law:     

“What if the owners of the Suns discovered that hordes of people were sneaking into games without paying?
 
What if they had a good idea who the gate-crashers are, but the ushers and security personnel were not allowed to ask these folks to produce their ticket stubs, thus non-paying attendees couldn’t be ejected.

Furthermore, what if Suns’ ownership was expected to provide those who sneaked in with complimentary eats and drink?

And what if, on those days when a gate-crasher became ill or injured, the Suns had to provide free medical care and shelter?”

-Arizona Gov. Jan Brewer

2 thoughts on “Immigration……..

  1. Good analogy.

    I lived in Arizona for ten years and just spent a week there on vacation. What I worry about is my second graders who are now old enough to drive – if they get pulled over, how are they going to prove they are natural-born U.S. citizens? What proof do U.S. citizens have? I don’t have a green card, just a driver’s license (which illegals can get from the government as a form of ID) and a passport, both of which can be faked. What’s that Ben Franklin quote, something like, If we give up civil liberties for freedom, we have neither? There’s too much potential for abuse. I keep picturing Cheech Marin deported back to Mexico in Born in East L.A.: But I don’t speak Spanish!

    • I would feel the same about any of my students, or former students, naturalized, born here, or not. Most are here looking for a better life. I blame the Feds, and Arizona’s law is really a reaction to the lack of help from the Feds and the problems it has created for Arizona. I’m sure, if the Feds did their job, inforcing the existing laws, Arizona wouldn’t have had to do what it attempted to do.

      In my state, parents have to provide a birth certificate to enroll students in public school. People have to provide one for a drivers license as well. If they have non-U.S. documents, they should be required to prove their status. It’s expected of us when we go abroad, I carry my passport EVERYWHERE.

      Finally, why is this arguement one sided? How does Mexico treat immigrants from the South? They expect treatment that they don’t give. It would be MUCH harsher here if we treated them, like they treat Guatemalan’s or other illigals from their south.

      I spent two years in England, I had to register with the police everytime I changed addresses. Why would I not expect non-nationals to to do otherwise here?

Leave a Reply

