One kid leaves, and another takes their place…….

I mentioned in my last post the one that just left.  Here’s the “new’ one.

On Friday we will have been in school for 64 days.  Today was his first day.  Ever.  He has never been to school.  He has been to pre-school, his mom said……”for a couple of weeks…”.  Oh, and she has taught him how to “defend himself”…….  Just wonderful.

I have 30 kids who know how to obey the rules (more or less).  I have 30 kids who know the routines and procedures (more or less).  And I have one little boy who is acting like the rest of them did on the first day of school three months ago.   And he knows about what most of them did three months ago.  That would be …. NOTHING.

See the thing is, in our STATE, (it’s a law), we are supposed to retain kids after they miss 20 or more days of school.  In practice that hardly ever happens, but this is the equivalent of three times that.  Granted, he was never enrolled so they aren’t technically absences, but when it comes down to missed days of instruction, it slices the same.  He can’t write the first letter of his name.

When mom dropped him off this morning, she mentioned that he had a fever yesterday, but that he was “OK today”.  No.  At lunch recess, (before the nasty turkey dogs for lunch) he threw up and had a 102.5 fever.  So he didn’t even finish one day of school.  And since he has to be fever free (without medication) for 24 hours before he can return to school, he will miss at least tomorrow as well.

The AP said, “Well, you’ll just have to try to get him caught up.”  Right, I’ll do my job, but mom is going to be doing a WHOLE BUNCH as well, or I’m not passing him to first grade.

It’s things like this that make me think that parents should have to pre- qualify to be parents.  At the very least they should be held more responsible for the way they raise their kids.   The really sad thing is,  I’m sure this mom really loves her kids, and the kids love her.  She just isn’t doing a very good job.  The only reason I heard for the kid not being enrolled sooner  had something to do with the mom not having a birth certificate, which is mandatory for kindergarten registration.   But I don’t know any place where it takes three months to get a copy of a birth certificate.

Stupid.

Why does the kid replacing the lowest kid in my class, still have to be the lowest kid in my class?  It’s not fair.

9 thoughts on “One kid leaves, and another takes their place…….

  1. I got a new one yesterday myself. Mom is a complete NUTJOB! Yesterday was Day 61 of 1st grade, and this was his first day of school!!! Mom said he was retained in kdg. (I assume she means last year, and obviously NOT in a Chicago Public School) and she just didn’t bring him to school yet this year until now. WT?!?!

  2. Because, unfortunately these are the ones that “move” so often. I had one student that had been in 3 kinder classes in 1 yr!

  3. My newest kid (I’m at 32 now)fortunately came with some skills. I know the kids you are talking about. The one in the post above though, should have been in school. His siblings have been here in class since the beginning of the year……. Mom’s idea to teach him defense tactics, got him suspended Friday for fighting.

  4. Hello! I am a parent of a Early Childhood Student in the Pittsburgh area. I have a Kindergarten readiness question for you. My daughter turns 5 19 days past the cut off date and we discussed this with the Pre-K teacher on day one of her starting pre-school. Throughout the year we have prepped her for the things she needs to know for Kindergarten (at home and at school) and I know as her mother (and even if I wasn’t her mother) that she exhibits above normal intelligence, comprehension, and self-confidence. She can write her name and can sound out and spell other words also, knows Rhymes, can count above 100 (She excells in math especially-already understanding addition, subtraction and beginning multiplication concepts), can count by 10’s, 100’s….etc. Knows her address and phone number……(blah blah blah). She took the early entry test for kindergarten and failed it. She now is expected to go back to preschool for one more year and learn the exact same things she already knows and will also fall into class with her little sister who is 18 months younger than her.
    Now for the question: (sorry for long back story) As a Kindergarten teacher, would you say that these assessments are pretty accurate? Have you had Early Entry Students that should have been held back? I was interested on your honest take on this subject. I want to look at this objectively and see it from the side of the teacher next year that will have to take her into their classroom.

    BTW: I would not have had her tested without the support of her Preschool (Early Childhood Public School) Teachers. We had an open dialog throughout the year that was honest and they would have told me if they felt she wasn’t ready.

  5. One more thing, the reason I ask is her grandmother is a Public School teacher in Pennsylvania and has discussed whether we can fight this. She had my husband tested when he was a child and they did not pass him. As a result she felt that they were wrong at the time. He was always bored with the curriculum and also exhibits higher IQ, and comprehension. I struggle with trusting the system and trusting my gut.

    • It sounds like you have done a lot to prepare your child for school. If I understand you correctly, your child’s birthday is 19 days after the cut off for starting school and would have to wait a year to enter kindergarten, making her almost six when she starts. I don’t know what test they give for kindergarten readiness in your area, but having a stranger give ANY test to a 4 or 5 year old is problematic. I’m just going to name a few of the factors that apply to starting school. They may or may not apply to your child. Most kids would benefit from starting school a later as opposed to earlier. Maturity plays a BIG role in school success, in some cases that can be more of a factor than how “smart” a kid is. I know many instances where children started school more immature than their peers, and struggled, not just that first year but every year after, and I’ve heard several parents express their regrets that they hadn’t listened to the teachers or school and waited. Look at it this way, your child if enrolled now, would begin school almost 5, and some of the kids in her class will be almost 6. There is a HUGE difference between those two ages developmentally. Do you want your child to lead, or follow? If she is always the youngest in her class, then extend that out to high school, her peers will be doing and experiencing things that if she participates, she may really be too young to handle well. So she ends up waiting a year, that doesn’t mean that she has to spin her wheels. Keep her challenged and help her learn what ever she is interested in. Sure she may be ahead of many of her friends when she finally starts school, but that doesn’t mean it is a waste. Ultimately parents guide, or should guide their child’s education. School is just one tool for that. If you stay involved, you can keep her challenged. Give her the time to mature.

  6. Thank you so much for your response. It means so much to me. It is one thing to hear from your peers than to hear it from an actual teacher (a kindergarten teacher at that!). I am also struggling with getting an opinion of someone who is not personally attached to the situation. My mother in law and her sister run their gifted programs in their schools and are pushing (not forcefully, gently nudging) for us to fight the assessment. I do agree that there are many issues with the way the assessment was handled and there should be a better way to determine it such as teacher feedback, in-class observation (where applicable) in addition to the one on one assessment.
    Heres to a wonderful summer for you! I know you need it after a long school year filled with so many kids and not too mention needy (or extremely absentee) parents. =)

  7. I wanted to thank you once more and give you the follow up. I spoke with the Public School Transition coordinator and told her my concerns with how the assessment was presented to my child. After lengthy discussions she offered to re-test my child herself. She re-assessed her on the subjects my daughter did not score on and she passed. She will be attending Kindergarten a year early (or the way I look at it: 19 days early). In this process I have researched much on the NAGT (National Association for Gifted and Talented) and researched the areas that are relatable to early entry or with being held back. I want to say that your points about Leadership and Development are spot on valid and that I look forward to supporting my daughter and keeping a close eye on those very topics.

    Enjoy your Summer!

Leave a Reply

