The End of the School Year

The kids are gone.  The room is cleaned out, and I’m checked out and my keys are turned in.  This will be the first time in 21 years of teaching where I have had a summer off.  Previously I have always worked in a year round setting where our breaks were smaller and spread out throughout the year.  The year round schedule was eliminated in our district as a cost saving move with all the budget cuts.  I’m looking forward to the break.  At the end of this week, we travel to get together with our children and grandchildren for a week.  It will be the first time we have had them all together in several years.  They are kind of spread out across the country.  One son in Nevada, one in Utah, one in the process of moving to Kansas, and our daughter in Colorado.  We just celebrated our 40 anniversary and this will be an extension of that.

We plan a road trip later in the summer, and there is the kindergarten conference (I Teach K) in Las Vegas in July that I plan to attend.  Other than that, it should be a nice quiet summer……

Well, that and “The List”.

1. clean out the garage (it has never actually been a garage, as in a place to park a car….) (and it won’t be after it’s clean, but it would be nice to be able to actually WALK in there…..)

2. fix bathroom sinks

3. paint outside of son’s house.

4.paint inside of house.

5. new carpet.

etc. etc.

not sure how much we will get done, but there are things to do…….

6 thoughts on “The End of the School Year

  1. Wow! Enjoy your summer. I know I plan to! How great that you’ll be able to have your whole clan together for a while. That’s great. I take it for granted that my family spends so much time together on such a regular basis. We were all just together Saturday night because it was my parents’ 45th Anniversary.

  2. I happened up on your blog today. Have enjoyed reading it. My goal this summer is to clean out my garage somewhat too…. I have never parked in it nor will ?I when cleaner. Your posts about Common Core and assessments , etc. are exactly how I felt in part this last year too. Enjoy your summer off.
    Denise
    kindergarten teacher in NC

Leave a Reply

