Class dismissal

Usually I  dismiss the kids from my outside classroom door.  Parents or older siblings come to the room to pick them up.  When I get down to just two or three we go to the front of the school and wait.  Yesterday, I had a couple of late pickups so we were waiting out front.  The two of them got it into their head that they were going to sit on my feet.  I kept moving my feet out-of-the-way at the last minute.  They were laughing and rolling around.  Finally I let them actually sit on my feet.  The little girl sits, leans back against my leg, puts her hands behind her head, looks up at the sun and says, “It’s a beautiful day at the beach.”  and just sits there likes she’s sunning herself.  And she had her shades on.

One thought on “Class dismissal

Leave a Reply

