Six Weeks Until School is Over

And we started the end of the year testing for the Common Core State Standards.  Why open the testing window so early?  I know it will take me forever to do it all, but SIX WEEKS!   I have to keep reminding myself that I have to individually test each kid on 100 sight words, etc, etc.  But still!

I’m sorry that I haven’t blogged as much this year, but I decided I wasn’t going to fill this blog with negativity.  And it’s hard.  I really don’t like where we are at as teachers right now.  And it isn’t just my district.  I follow my education blogs on Google Reader and I have noticed that many of the educators I follow aren’t posting as much lately as well.

On the plus side, from what little testing I’ve managed to do so far, my kids have made amazing progress.  I love this time of the year in kindergarten.  Most of them are really starting to put all of the dots together.  I can see amazing progress, even in my very low kids.  I have to remind myself that they only look really bad when compared to the high ones.  As far as the standards go, they are still low, but they have made great progress, especially for kids that knew no English at the beginning of the year.  Our district has a list of 100 high frequency words for kindergarten and they want them to know at least 50 of them.  Our Trophies Reading program used to have about 32 or so words, so we have had to step it up a bit this year.   My highest readers are reading on a Second Grade level.  I had two girls fighting over an Amelia Bedelia book today, it had a reading level of 2.3, and they could read it.

Oh, and then there is the kid that moved in from out-of-state a month ago and has less than 60 days in the classroom for all year to date.  I tested him on the alphabet and he knew the letter “O” and a few sounds.  No words.  I don’t “get” some parents.

Anyway, I’m still alive.  My wife thinks I should move to 1st grade and smaller class sizes.  But it’s also smaller rooms, different curriculum to learn, etc.

2 thoughts on “Six Weeks Until School is Over

  1. You hit the nail on the head. You already know I haven’t posted one thing about school this year, and the past few years, I’ve been posting less and less. Like you said, I don’t want to dwell on the negative all the time.

    I’m going to one-up your wife, and say I’m thinking about moving out of teaching all together. The common core stuff is bad enough, and we ALL have to deal with that, but add to it all the BS Chicago is adding to it, and I just don’t want to be a part of it any more. We’re about 90% certain we’re going to be striking this fall, so that just adds to the stress. Our new mayor, and the jackass Yes Man he brought in to run the school district have made our lives so miserable. And, they’re starting from the top, and messing with administrators. I just heard that at the end of this school year (basically less than two months from now) there are going to be over 250 principals retiring from CPS. That’s unbelievable. And since the shit trickles down, imagine what that means for those of us in the trenches. It’s not a pretty picture.

    In all seriousness, I’ve been looking into other career options, and will probably be starting classes over the summer. I just need to decide what the hell it is I want to do. My life is so stressful right now, and it’s taking it’s toll on me physically. Well, I guess you might already know that if you’ve been checking in over at my place. I can’t keep putting myself through this nonsense.

  2. Well, I have missed you and wondered what was going on…suspected it wasn’t something good. I hate to tell you how much I still like my job and my school, despite the changes of CC. Our teachers are taking a positive approach even though we don’t like a lot of the new expectations. We are all in this together and I plan to keep teaching for at least five years. My certificate will have to be renewed by then! We have ten days left. Just our field trip and a little report card testing left to finish! Hope you have a restful summer and time to renew your spirit!

Leave a Reply

