Well, It’s Official- we lose a kindergarten teacher and each gain 7-8 kids…..

The district had “count day” last Friday and our Principal received the adjusted school staffing numbers based on actual enrollment (instead of the previous projected enrollment) and we lost two teachers at our school.  This caused a variety of adjustments throughout the school and ultimately resulted in them cutting one kindergarten class and adding one first grade.  So we met as a grade level and divided the one teacher’s class up into the other three remaining classes and starting next Wednesday, I will have 28 students in my class instead of the current 21. I KNEW it was too good to last.  At least I’ll have a few days to get the room and class ready for them.  The kindergarten teacher who lost her class will be moving up to first which she has taught before.

Funny one the other day,  I was testing the kids on what letters they knew, and I asked one kid what the letter was.  He said, “B”.  I asked, and what sounds do B’s make?”  He said, “Buzzzzzzzzz…….”

Gotta love them.

2 thoughts on “Well, It’s Official- we lose a kindergarten teacher and each gain 7-8 kids…..

  1. I am so very, very happy and thankful for my 15 students! I’ve taught the 25+ group before and there is a world of difference in how much you can accomplish with each one. I will pray for you to have patience and stamina, especially with the implementation of all the CC stuff.

Leave a Reply

